Beautiful People #1 – March Edition

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_nHello everyone! I love linkups, so today I am going to try “Beautiful People!” I have been wanting to do it for a long time, so I thought I would give it a try.”Beautiful People is a meme created by Sky @ Further Up and Further In and Cait @ Paper Fury. They created the meme to help you understand your book characters more. You can click here and here to see what “Beautiful People” is all about to get a detailed description that is probably better than mine.

I am so excited and the best part is that it is super fun, free, and it is just for writers and bookworms like you and me! I am ready to give this a shot!

Everybody, get ready for Mae in my upcoming Nanowrimo story that doesn’t have a title quite yet! She will not be the character for my Camp Nanowrimo story, but for my main one in November.

Here are the questions!

What first inspired this character? Is there a person/actor you based them off?

I got inspired for my character Mae by watching A League of Their Own and one of the characters were named Mae. I really liked the name a lot, so I decided to name my main character Mae. I kind of picture Mae as a Dove Cameron or a Kat McNamara. I really like both of those actresses a lot, so I thought they would be perfect to be Mae.

Dove Cameron <3:

 Kat McNamara

Describe their daily routine

Mae is currently moving with her mom, her step-brother, and her step-dad to a new state. Her daily routine is going to her new school, coming home and dealing with family, doing stacks of homework, watching an episode or two of her favorite TV show, and going to bed. Not exciting, but it is pretty good. for an average person.

If they joined your local high school, what clique would they fit into?

This is such a great question. I think Mae would fit in the “new kids” clique because she is moving to a new state with a new school with a new half of her family.

Write a list of things they merely tolerate. Ex: certain people, foods, circumstances in their lives…

Let’s see, Mae dislikes her new school, her step-brother Ethan, green beans, spinach in a can, and the annoying cartoons her brother watches just so he can annoy her.

How do they react in awkward silences?

I love this question so much. Not so well to be exact. Mae can’t survive awkward silences. She has tried, but she has never made it through.

Can they swim? If so, how did they learn?

Mae learned to swim when she was four. She was at her best friend’s birthday party and she didn’t know how to swim, so her biological dad taught her. Her mom and her dad have it on camera.

What is one major event that helped shape who they are?

Probably her parent’s divorce because she had to learn to grow up quickly and be more independent. Now that I say it, I feel bad.

What things do they value most in life?

Probably her friends, mostly her mom, and the locket her dad gave her before he dad left. The golden locket has a picture of her, her mom, and her dad.

Do they believe in giving other people second chances? Do they have any trust issues?

Honestly, Mae does believe in second chances. She is giving her new family a second chance, she gave her dad a million chances, but also she is giving herself a second chance to change any of the mistakes she has made in her life. Mae does not have any trust issues, but she dislikes it when somebody breaks a promise.

Your character is having a rough day…what things do they do to make them happy again? Is there anyone they talk/interact with to get in a better mood?

Mae sometimes talks to her mom when she is having a rough day from school to friends, even to adjusting to her new life. Sometimes, she listens to her favorite boy band or she watches her favorite TV show to make her feel better. She also goes outside when she is stressed out because nature puts everything behind her.

Have you done “Beautiful People” yet? Comment the link to your’s, so I can check it out!

4 responses to “Beautiful People #1 – March Edition

  1. Ooh, I loved reading this! Mae sounds mildly adorable (and I love the actors you have for her. ;D) and aww, I feel really bad for her backstory. Awkward silences are the worst. THE WORST. Hehe. That question was rather torturous of us, eh? ;D And I love that she goes outside to nature when she’s stressed….that’s really beautiful.
    I loved getting to *meet* Mae. Thanks for joining in the linkup!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Cait! I agree with you on awkward silences. They are THE WORST! 😀 I really loved that question so much because I thought it was really funny. No problem! I will definitely do the linkup again. It was so much fun! 🙂

      Like

  2. Beautiful People is so much fun! I’ve been doing it for awhile now, and it really helps you get to know your characters/book. And it’s great to share a bit with other writers. I gather from your post that you’re writing contemporary fiction (right?). Mae sounds like a sweetheart with some serious trouble in her past, and I like the sound of her a lot.

    Glad you joined 😉

    -Rebekah @ Wordsmithing and Worldbuilding

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

