Review of “Elemental”

Hello! I am back after a super long mini hiatus with a book review! I have been so busy with Camp Nanowrimo that I have not been able to do blog posts and weekly memes that I do all of the time.

Anyway, a few weeks ago, I read this great book called Elemental by Antony John. It is set in a dystopian world, but everybody has an element except for a boy named Thomas, but what he doesn’t know is that one secret can change who he is. Here is my review!

Elemental (Elemental, #1)Title: Elemental

Author: Antony John

Publishing Date: November 21st, 2012

Source: Library

 

About: Sixteen-year-old Thomas has always been an outsider. The first child born without the power of an Element—earth, water, wind or fire—he has little to offer his tiny, remote Outer Banks colony. Or so the Guardians would have him believe.

In the wake of an unforeseen storm, desperate pirates kidnap the Guardians, intent on claiming the island as their own. Caught between the plague-ridden mainland and the advancing pirates, Thomas and his friends fight for survival in the battered remains of a mysterious abandoned settlement. But the secrets they unearth will turn Thomas’ world upside-down, and bring to light not only a treacherous past but also a future more dangerous than he can possibly imagine. (Goodreads)

Okay, this was a pretty great book, but it was kind of confusing and slow in my opinion. No offense, but I just didn’t get it at some parts.

Yeah, I’ll read the next few books in the series, but the first book was kind of confusing.

Some parts just didn’t make any sense to me like I didn’t know where Thomas and his friends were going at some times. I just didn’t know if I missed something or not. I don’t know if I skipped a page or two. It all just didn’t make sense. To sum it all up, some parts were just confusing.

Anyway, I chose this book because I really wanted to read something like The Maze Runner by James Dashner and it turns out that he RECOMMENDED this book. So, I decided to give it a chance because I love dystopian books and this book was set in the far future. This book also reminded me of a swash-buckling pirate dystopian book which was really cool. I really enjoyed it.

I will read the rest of the series because it was so good and it left me on a cliffhanger that just wants me to read more of the series.

I am going to rate this book 3 stars. Beginning books in a series are kind of slow and sloppy at first, but then they get really good towards the middle and super awesome at the end of the series.

Have you read antony john’s Elemental? keep checking out Polaroid books because new posts are going to be added soon!

Leave a Reply

