Is It Okay to Write Negative Reviews?

maddieblogbuttonHello bookish readers! Have you ever wondered if it is okay to write a negative review about those few select books that you didn’t like? I mean, you have a ton of five start reviews, but you don’t have a one star review on your blog. Is that even okay?

Today, we are going to talk about writing negative reviews and their pros and cons of writing them. Even though I don’t think I have ever wrote a negative review in my life, I know a lot about negative reviews.*

*I mean, look on my goodreads profile. sure, I have rated books one star, but I didn’t write a review on them. Sure, there are two books on my “No way Jose” board, but you notice that I didn’t write reviews on them. anyway, back to the post.

I mean, we all feel pretty guilty when we write negative reviews when the author think they did an amazing job on the book, but everybody has different opinions. I mean, we all feel really bad when we write a negative review because we wanted to love the book, but we didn’t.

giphy

 

PROS ABOUt writing negative reviews

  • When you write a negative review of an author’s book, you can give them constructive criticism about what you think should have been changed or what you think they could add to make it even better.
  • You could make the author’s next book turn into a one star book to a five-star book.
  • When you write a negative review and you get it on your blog, you don’t feel so bad about writing it anymore.
  • If the author wrote the debut novel and you only gave it one star, they shouldn’t feel bad! One day, the author is going to write an amazing book and everybody will be talking about it! Who knows, maybe the author’s book will get turned into a TV series or a movie!
  • It also gives you practice in case you have never wrote a negative review before. Soon, you will be the negative review master! You’ll have a chocolate castle and henchmen by your sides at all times! Well, that probably won’t happen, but what I am saying is that you will get better at writing negative reviews.
  • It also gives you practice in case you have never wrote a negative review before. Soon, you will be the negative review master! You’ll have a chocolate castle and henchmen by your sides at all times! Well, that probably won’t happen, but what I am saying is that you will get better at writing negative reviews.
  • Also, you can look at other blogger’s negative reviews on many book related blogs and websites. Take Goodreads for example. Check out this review from one of my favorite bloggers in the whole entire world. Cait isn’t afraid to speak her mind! You go girl!

Cons about writing negative reviews

  • We don’t want to hurt the author’s feelings because we all love every single author, famous or not, and we are very thankful that they are giving us wonderful books to read.*
*this point kind of goes back to the one about constructive criticism.
  • We also don’t want to hurt the writer’s feelings because they have spent so many seconds, minutes, hours, days, months, and possibly years writing their books. To sum it all up, you don’t want to hurt their feelings because they have written their brains off!

a82c5071a7c9b12f562c1828ab3f1bf4

  • Sometimes, the author may or may not take your constructive criticism seriously because they may see that you are a kid or teen blogger and they may think, “This is coming from a kid, not the Giant Writer’s Association or the other side of the country.” YOUR CRITICISM DOES MATTER IN THIS BIG WORLD!
  • Also, the stress is REAL. What if the author sees you negative review about their book?! Don’t stress! You are doing the author a favor by giving them really great advice about their book.

Do you get what I’m saying? I think you do because you’ve probably read through this whole post already and you were probably amazed at the fact that YOU ARE NOT ALONE! YOU ARE NOT ALONE IN THIS BIG BOOKISH WORLD! I WILL ALWAYS BE HERE WITH YOU!

WHAT do you think about writing negative reviews? comment your opinions below!

2 responses to “Is It Okay to Write Negative Reviews?

  1. Aww, YOU ARE THE SWEETEST <33 I'm so glad you like my reviews. XD I can definitely be a bit harsh, hehe #mybad Although I’ve totally stopped feeling guilty for it now?! For me: negative reviews are for other READERS. I personally 100% believe that author’s should NOT be reading negative reviews. So sorry about that, but eek, yeah, I don’t think authors should be reading our reviews to look for constructive criticism. There are going to be THOUSANDS of reviews and everyone will say something different. Which would be impossible to try and please everyone, right?!
    So I more think negative reviews are for other readers….like if I like certain books and someone ELSE likes those same books…we’re more likely to dislike the same books too, right?! Ergo we can save each other the trouble of reading bad books! 😀
    (And it’s also really fun to express opinions. hehe.)
    Although I *DO* still freak out about potentially hurting feelings. Like, yes, the author (if they do read the review) and also other readers who loved the book. Eeek. And for ARCs it’s really hard when you have to send the negative review back to the publicist. *hides for eternity*
    A super interesting discussion! I loved hearing your thoughts on this. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

