Beautiful People #2 – May Edition

Hello fellow dragons in disguise! What’s up? Have you all read any great books lately? If so, tell me because I would love to know!

Today’s post is going to be a fantastic meme called “Beautiful People” hosted by Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In! You can check out more on their blogs.

Today’s character is going to be Dylan North, my Camp Nanowrimo character from my first winning novel, Incognito. If I had a dream cast, Dylan would be Dylan O’ Brien. It is perfect because his name is Dylan and my character’s name is Dylan, so yeah. You get the point. Let’s get started!

How often do they smile? Would they smile at a stranger?

Dylan often smiles at a ton of people because like a famous saying once said, “A smile could go on for miles.” He believes that a smile could brighten up everyone’s day. Dylan does smile at strangers, but he doesn’t like smiling at every stranger he sees.

What is the cruelest thing they’ve ever been told? And what was their reaction?

The cruelest thing Dylan has ever been told is when his ex-best friend Liam told him that they were not going to be friends anymore. When Liam said that to him, he fell apart.

What is the kindest thing they’ve ever been told? And what was their reaction?

The kindest thing Dylan has ever been told is when his elementary teacher told him that he was really good at art. That made him want to do art forever and he wanted to make a living doing art for everyone.

What is one strong memory that has stuck with your character from childhood? Why is it so powerful and lasting?

This is such a hard question for me to answer. I would have to say that when Dylan’s parents got him a ton of art supplies and a brand new desk because now that he had all of those things, he could write comic books and illustrate them.

What book (a real actual published book!) do you think your character would benefit from reading?

Eek! I love this question! Dylan would probably benefit from reading Lost in the Sun by Lisa Graff because it was just an amazing book for me to read and I really think that Dylan would like it and he would connect to it like I did.

Have they ever been seriously injured? How severely? How did they react?

On the trail to Ohio in my novel, Dylan, Shelby, and two other teens went to a little coffee shop just outside of Ohio. A man walked in there and started a huge riot. He shot Dylan in the shoulder and they couldn’t get it fixed until they made it to Ohio. He was shocked that the mysterious man shot him in the shoulder and he didn’t like it one bit. He felt weak.

Do they like and get along with their neighbors?

He does get along with his neighbors very well, but he doesn’t really socialize with them unless it is a neighborhood barbecue. He mostly likes talking to his new best friend that he met in the fourth grade, Shelby.

On a scale from 1 to 10 (1 being easy and 10 being difficult) how easy are they to get along with?

Probably a 3 unless you get on his bad side. When he gets really angry, it gets really difficult to get along with him.

If they could travel anywhere in the world, where would they go?

Probably some imaginary world that he has made in his comic books from an intergalactic universe to a dystopian universe with four eyed trolls and a half panda, half blobfish.* If he had to travel to a real place in the world, he would choose London, England because he learned about it in one of his classes and he found it really interesting.

*Wow, just imagine what that would look like. Shocking and weird at the same time.

Who was the last person they held hands with?

Probably Shelby sometime when she wasn’t really paying attention. Dylan has feelings for Shelby, but he doesn’t know how to say them. He has told her before, but she didn’t really take it the right way. She thought that he was talking about their friendship.

That is today’s post! Check out “beautiful People” and try it out! Then, comment the link to your’s below!

13 responses to “Beautiful People #2 – May Edition

  1. Hi, Maddie! I think Dylan is a really cool character. I love how he’s so friendly and sweet (totally antithetical to my character Crow whom you read about, haha), and that he loves art. My parents are both artists, so I find that really cool. 🙂 It’s also awesome that he’s a writer of sorts–what writer doesn’t love reading about a writer character? (I would totally go to my imaginary world too. ;))
    You’ve already read my Beautiful People post, but here it is for anyone else who’d like to check it out: https://thestoryscientistblog.wordpress.com/2016/05/11/beautiful-people/
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello! Thanks! Yeah, Dylan and Crow and different in every single way. 😀 Yes! Who doesn’t love to write? It is so cool that your parents are writers! I’m mostly the bookish person/writer in my family. 😀 Yes, imaginary worlds are the best! Thanks! Your post was amazing too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am now between deeply fascinated and terrified to see a half panda, half blobfish creature. My mind is trying to think what on earth that would look like. I really like Dylan and how he smiles all the time (I wonder if his cheek muscles hurt smiling that much??). I love characters that are artists, because they have such unique perspectives on the world.
    I did Beautiful People for the first time, and really loved it! It helped me go more in depth with my characters. Here’s the link: http://melissagravitis.blogspot.com/2016/05/beautiful-people-may-edition.html
    Lovely post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Now that I have said it, I am completely terrified, yet curious to see a half blobfish/half panda. 😀 Dylan’s cheek muscles are probably hurt every single time he smiles. Me too! I love artists because each and every artist is unique and special in their own way! YAY! I am so happy that you did it! Isn’t it so fun?! I would love to see your post and I would love to check it out! Thanks for stopping by Melissa! 😀

      Like

  3. AHHH THIS WAS SO COOL. I already love Dylan. Except he got shot?!? POOR PRECIOUS CRUMPET. Also characters who art are just intensely awesome. :’) I’m so loving the detail in your answers too! It sounds like you know Dylan really well. 🙂

    Thanks for joining in!

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANKS SO MUCH CAIT! Me too. Dylan is probably my fictional crush that I’ve made. 😀 Yeah, he got shot. I am so mean to my characters, but all authors are, so we are not alone. Thanks and you are welcome! I am glad I got to do it!

      Like

    • Thank you so much! He’s that fictional character that makes you want to get a machine that can make characters come alive. Yes, I want to hug him too! Thanks for stopping by Ann! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! Dylan O’ Brien is amazing and I agree with you. Comics and art are so much fun even though I am not so good at art though. 😀 Yeah, being shot is not fun at all. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  4. Pingback: The Monthly Polaroid – #1 // I’m Writing More and Reading More·

  5. Pingback: Beautiful People #4 – July Edition·

  6. Pingback: “Captain America Book Tag”·

Leave a Reply

