Review of “Just My Luck”

Just My LuckWelcome one and welcome all to another review on this very blog! For some reason that sentence just sounded like it rhymed. Well, the world will never know.

Anyway, I have recently read Just My Luck by Cammie McGovern and if you haven’t read this book yet, go to your nearest bookstore or library and get it now! Wait, you need proof and I am going to tell you why Just My Luck is one of the best books ever.

Title: Just My Luck

Author: Cammie Govern

Publishing Date / Publisher: February 23rd by HarperCollins

About: Fourth grade is not going at all how Benny Barrows hoped. He hasn’t found a new best friend. He’s still not a great bike rider—even though his brother George, who’s autistic, can do tricks. And worst of all, he worries his dad’s recent accident might be all his fault. Benny tries to take his mom’s advice and focus on helping others, and to take things one step at a time. But when his dad ends up in the hospital again, Benny doesn’t know how he and his family will overcome all the bad luck that life has thrown their way.

Just My Luck is a deeply moving and rewarding novel about a down-on-his-luck boy whose caring heart ultimately helps him find the strength to cope with tragedy and realize how much he truly has to offer his friends and family.

Guys, this is why I love looking in the Children’s section of my library. Reason #1 is they always put the new books on a super large shelf. Reason #2 is that I find amazing books just like this one.tumblr_m386jn9HWz1r6w7e0o12_r1_250

This book covered some of the things that I never really experienced in my life like autism. Since I don’t have autism, I don’t know what really goes on in the mind of somebody who does.

George, Benny’s little brother in Just My Luck, has autism and he was the sweetest little thing ever. He was so adorable and even though he wasn’t like anybody that he knew, he still treated everybody the same and he is always so nice to everybody.

Still on the subject of autism, Cammie Govern wrote about George with such power. It was like she was in the mind of George, and she was because she made him up. She wrote about him with great power and great responsibility. Even though she was probably not autistic, she probably knew somebody who was and she probably learned more and more about that person to help with her book.

I loved Benny because he was a great little brother to his two other siblings, Martin and George. I just feel so bad for him though.

Reason #1 is that he thought that it was his fault that his dad got injured. Reason #2 is that he doesn’t know how to ride a bike.

I also loved Benny because he really wanted to get a footprint on the wall. If you are wondering what that was for, it was for his school and whenever they saw a kid doing something good, they put a footprint on the wall and the class with the most footprints got a pizza party.

Another reason is that he loves making LEGO movies and I love making LEGO movies even though I am not good at making them. I still think Revenge of the Zombie Girl, my LEGO movie, is still a huge hit in my family’s household.

I also loved how the family got along even though the times got rough with their dad going to the hospital and the mom struggling with bills. Benny, George, and Martin all wanted to help and I thought that what they did was very sweet.

To sum it all up, I am going to give this book five stars. I love reading books like these and I am so glad I found another one for me. ★★★★★

Have you read just my luck? what do you think about it? do you think you may read it sometime? comment below!

One response to “Review of “Just My Luck”

  1. Pingback: The Monthly Polaroid – #2 // Can I Be a Dreamologist?·

Leave a Reply

