Review of “Insurgent”

Insurgent (Divergent, #2)Guys, I finally got done with Veronica Roth’s Insurgent, the second book in the Divergent series. You may think that it is super crazy and I have to say that you are right.

I started this book in April and I got done with it somewhere in the beginning of July. Isn’t that bananas? Well, maybe it is potatoes because I don’t like bananas.

Anyway, it doesn’t matter. You may like bananas, but I like potatoes.

What matters is that I got finished with the book and now I can do a review of Insurgent for all of you guys! It was such a great book, but it had its flaws like every single book does. I can’t wait to show you my review of this book and now I get to. Here is my review of Insurgent by Veronica Roth.

Title: Insurgent

Author: Veronica Roth

Publishing Date / Publisher: May 1st, 2012 by HarperCollins Children’s Books

About: One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth’s much-anticipated second book of the dystopian DIVERGENT series is another intoxicating thrill ride of a story, rich with hallmark twists, heartbreaks, romance, and powerful insights about human nature. (Goodreads)

GUYS, I AM FREAKING OUT! THIS BOOK WAS SO GOOD, but it was slow at first. That is why it took me three months to read the entire book. Also we started going back to the library again. That is another reason.

tumblr_n4iuliOlHb1tziei6o1_500

Even though this book was 525 pages of complete awesomeness, it was still long and amazing. I mean, who doesn’t want to read about a dystopian Chicago where Tris and Tobias fight back against Jeanine Matthews and some of the Dauntless traitors?

I know this is a silly question, but do you all think that the Chicago Cubs stadium would still be standing or do you think that some of the faction workers crashed it down when they built the factions? I know that this has nothing to do with it, but I just wanted to ask.

“We both have war inside us. Sometimes it keeps us alive. Sometimes it threatens to destroy us.”

I really love how Tris has progressed after the whole dramatic week that was filled with action. She has learned how to fight and she knows what is right, but sometimes she believes that she can’t really do it and she cries at some of the parts. Every single part that Tris cried, I would be like, “Stop crying. YOU ARE IN WAR!” Then, I realized that I shouldn’t say that in my head because I would cry too. I mean, it is scary and dangerous fighting for what you believe in.

Tris is one of those female protagonists who can kick butt just like Katniss Everdeen in Suzanne Collin’s The Hunger Games series. Roth’s and Collin’s style of writing is so different, but they both write with that pizzazz that makes all of us want to read more. It is like we crave their books and their writing and we can never stop loving it unless they mess up really bad like with bad grammar and bad decisions.

“Like a wild animal, the truth is too powerful to remain caged.”

I also love Tobia’s sarcasm in the book because I have never really known if I was being sarcastic or not, but I would love to take some of his sarcastic remarks if necessary for the occasion. I think that my favorite sarcastic remark was when him and Peter were saving Tris and Peter was like, “Got that gun?” Tobias replies, “No, I figured I would shoot the bullets out of my nostrils, so I left it upstairs.” I have no idea when this will be necessary to say, but it would be cool to say it sometime.

Roth writes with such an amazing style. It is like she is writing with a magic wand or a paintbrush that takes you to a magical land as you paint it. That is how I felt when I was reading this book. I could picture everything in my mind as I was reading it. Sure, I had to watch the Allegiant trailer to see what the characters sounded like because I was curious, but I did that because I wanted to.

“It reminds me why I chose Dauntless in the first place: not because they are perfect, but because they are alive. Because they are free.”

The only things that got on my nerves is the parts when Tris and Tobias would kiss all of the time. I get that you love each other, but I don’t think that you need to kiss all of the time. I mean, you guys are in war, remember?

Insurgent is one of those books that you just devour and devour over and over again just because it is so good. If you love action, a little bit of romance, and even more action, you are going to love Insurgent. Before you read Insurgent, you have to read Divergent. If you think that you can watch the movie and start onto the second book, YOU ARE WRONG! W-R-O-N-G!

This book is definitely a four star book. The plot twist left me on a cliffhanger, but luckily I got the whole series for my birthday in January.  ★★★★✩

what do you think about veronica roth’s insurgent? have you read it yet? what was your favorite sarcastic remark in the book? also, movies or books? Your pick! Comment below!

One response to “Review of “Insurgent”

  1. Pingback: The Monthly Polaroid – #3 // The Month of Veronica Roth·

Leave a Reply

