Review of “This is Where the World Ends”

This Is Where the World EndsHey guys! I am back with another review that may surprise all of you guys reading if you keep on reading this post. I know that everybody reading may be shocked, but I am ready to say what I have to say.

If you have been reading and following my blog, I want to say thank you and I can not wait for you guys to read this review! If you are just jumping in, press that follow button and get ready because it is going to be one bumpy ride.

Check out my review of Amy Zhang’s novel, This is Where the World Ends.

Title: This is Where the World Ends

Author: Amy Zhang

Publisher / Publishing Date: March 22nd, 2016 by Greenwillow Books

About: Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s been ever since elementary school, when Janie Vivien moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It’s the perfect friendship—as long as no one finds out about it. But then Janie goes missing and everything Micah thought he knew about his best friend is colored with doubt.

Using a nonlinear writing style and dual narrators, Amy Zhang reveals the circumstances surrounding Janie’s disappearance in a second novel. (Goodreads)

A few weeks ago, I found this novel at my library. When I looked at the synopsis of the book and the cover of the book, I instantly fell in love. I couldn’t wait to read a book about a group of friends that stick with each other in the apocalypse.

NO. THERE WASN’T AN APOCALYPSE. *cries in the corner*

Well, let’s just say it didn’t even go like that. I let myself get my hopes way up high. This is Where the World Ends isn’t even about teens fighting dangers and obstacles in an apocalypse. It is about Janie and her house burns down and her friend Micah doesn’t remember anything about that night.

I thought that I was going to dig this book, but I didn’t. I got one hundred and twenty pages in and I just couldn’t read it anymore.

why i didn’t like this is where the world ends

  • It didn’t have anything to do with the world ending. Like I said, Janie’s house burns down and she goes to Nepal for some odd reason. Micah forgets everything and he doesn’t know what happened to Janie.
  • Janie and Micah could have had better and nicer friends. I mean, Dewey was a bad example for Micah and he only cared about himself. Dewey thought that he was so cool because he had his shirt collar popped up and he cussed in every single sentence that he said.
  • Janie is boy crazy. She has probably dated five boys in her lifetime and she only cares about Ander Cameron because that is the current boyfriend that she is with right now, but she probably won’t be with him long. Also to me, she isn’t a true friend to Micah because she doesn’t even want them to talk in school. She says that they should “spread out” or something like that.
  • About Dewey and everybody else in the whole entire book, there was a whole lot of mild language. I wouldn’t even say that it is mild language. It is more like explicit language. I couldn’t even read the book anymore because of that. Also, it was more of explicit language which I don’t even like. I mean, the characters said bad things even when they weren’t even talking to anybody.
  • The book was SO CONFUSING. I loved how the book was in Janie’s and Micah’s point of view, but it would go forward two months later and then it would go back two months later. It was just so confusing. For readers who do think it makes sense, I have to agree with you because it says “before” and “after” when you go to a new chapter in the book.

This is Where the World Ends is going to be a one star book in my eyes. If you took out the cussing and how the characters acted like adults even though they haven’t graduated yet, the book would have been so much better. ★✩✩✩✩

6 responses to “Review of “This is Where the World Ends”

  1. Ugh, I’m sorry you didn’t like this. The synopsis does sound amazing! I hate it when the book is nothing like I was expecting. If a book has constant explicit language – especially out of context – I put it down immediately. I don’t want to pick up that sort of language, and I certainly don’t want to support a book that uses foul words unnecessarily.

    Thanks for the heads-up about this one. I won’t be reading it anytime soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: “Captain America Book Tag”·

  3. Pingback: The Monthly Polaroid #4 // September Already?·

Leave a Reply

