Review of “The Unexpected Everything”

Hi guys! I have been hearing so much about Morgan Matson’s The Unexpected Everything. When I found out that my favorite bookstore was closing, I decided to go in there and see if there was anything that I could buy. After carrying around The Unexpected Everything with me for thirty minutes or so, I decided to buy it.

If you want to know more about The Unexpected Everything, you have to keep on reading! Check out my review of Morgan Matson’s novel right now.

Title: The Unexpected Everything

Author: Morgan Matson

Publisher / Publishing Date: May 3rd, 2016 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Source: Hastings

Summary: Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that? (Goodreads)


I have heard so many great things about this book from some of my favorite bloggers and so I decided to pick up my copy to see what all of the news was about.

THIS BOOK WAS SO GOOD! I LOVED IT SO MUCH! MONKEY EMOJIS EVERYWHERE BECAUSE EMOJIS WERE IN THE BOOK! *tosses monkey emojis to everyone*

what i liked about the unexpected everything

  • friendship is important

The Unexpected Everything really covered the point of friendship. Andie and all of her friends are SO CLOSE! #FRIENDSHIPGOALS. Toby, Palmer, Bri, and Andie are the best of friends and they always have each other’s backs,* they always stick up for each other, and they are just the true example of friendship.

Also, Andie and her dad are practically STRANGERS in the book. Her dad works all of the time for congress and Peter must really love to work too. The relationship between Andie and her dad starts to form where he tells Andie all about her mom and they have fun and he feels like James Bond sometimes. Also, they watch John Wayne movies.

*they don’t keep their backs in a jar. that would be freaky.
  • the love interest is a homeschooler

I have NEVER read a book with a homeschooler in it, so when I found out that Clark was homeschooled, I was freaking out in my room and kicking my legs all over the place.

Clark was practically my dream boy. I usually have fictional crushes on dystopian heroes who fight against evil, but this was different! Clark loves to write, he is kind of awkward, which I think is SO CUTE, and he is so adorable! If you are ever looking for a friend with glasses and he loves to write fantasy novels, you came to the right place. Just talk to Clark, my friend.

15923832

  • dogs! (and some cats)

I LOVE animals and if you look at the cover, you know that it is going to involve a dog, but not cats. Andie doesn’t get to do something that she wants to over the summer because it looks great when you go to college and it makes you look really smart.

Anyway, she starts to walk dogs and it sounds really fun if you are the type of person who likes to exercise everyday and walk animals every single day that you can. To be honest, I think it would be super fun to do every single day. Well, some parts if you know what I mean.

what i disliked about the unexpected everything

  • the ending…

Okay, I know that it is super hard to come up with an ending that brings the BOOM in KABOOM, but the ending could have been a little bit better. I was kind of picturing the ending of the book as a super sweet and super romantic ending where they are cuddled up, drinking hot cocoa by the campfire, but it wasn’t.

  • andie and boys means less than three weeks. (Or equal to.)♥

Andie is a politician’s daughter and you would think that being the daughter of somebody in congress means that you only date one guy and maybe four years later if you don’t like him because he is changing you break up with him.

Well, not in Andie’s eyes.

I have never had a boyfriend and I crush on some guys, but I never talk to them because I’m #SHY and I don’t see myself as being shy in a bad way.

In my mind, I can see Andie dating ten to fifteen boys a year. Just count every three weeks in a year and count how many boys she dates every three weeks. I DARE YOU! If you do find out how many boys she dates a year, tell me in the comments below because I would love to know.

Also, it is really mean to break boys hearts. I mean, they thought that you really loved them!

To sum it all up, this book is going to be a four star book. It covers some great lessons and it is a fantastic book overall. I will definitely read more of Morgan Matson’s books! ★★★★✩

what do you think about the unexpected everything? are you a dog or a cat person? do you like morgan matson’s books? comment below and lettuce chat!

 

6 responses to “Review of “The Unexpected Everything”

  1. Hmmm. I’ve been hesitant about this book. But my friend owes me a book, and I might just ask him to buy this one for me instead of the one I’ve had in mind for so long. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Review of “Second Chance Summer”·

  3. Pingback: The Monthly Polaroid #4 // September Already?·

Leave a Reply

