Review of “Second Chance Summer”

Hey everybody! Ever since I got done with The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson, I have become a HUGE fan of Morgan Matson’s novels. To my surprise, my library has every single novel that she has written, except for The Unexpected Everything.

Since the sun is out in some places and summer is on the verge of ending, I wanted to read a summertime book. That is why I chose Second Chance Summer! Check out my review here.

Title: Second Chance Summer

Author: Morgan Matson

Publisher / Publishing Date: May 8th, 2012 by Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing

Source: Library

About: From the Flying Start author of Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, a powerful novel about hope in the face of heartbreak.

Taylor Edwards’ family might not be the closest-knit—everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled—but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains.

Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actually gone anywhere. Her former best friend is still around, as is her first boyfriend…and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve.

As the summer progresses and the Edwards become more of a family, they’re more aware than ever that they’re battling a ticking clock. Sometimes, though, there is just enough time to get a second chance—with family, with friends, and with love. (Goodreads)


If you don’t feel like reading the summary of the book above, Second Chance Summer is about a girl named Taylor Edwards and her dad has cancer. They all want to spend one last summer at their old lake house in Pocono Mountains. Taylor meets some old friends, including an old crush, and she may have to give people second chances this summer.

Taylor ran away from all of her problems because she was a little afraid to give people second chances and she was a little afraid to solve her problems. Therefore, she ran away from them. She also has one older brother named Warren (who may be her twin. I can’t really remember.) and one younger sister named Gelsey. Warren somehow reminds me a lot of Ansel Elgort and I kept on picturing him as Warren, the boy who was a walking encyclopedia. He knew everything!* He had to be my favorite character in the whole entire book, right along with Taylor.

*well, not everything. it didn’t mention anything about the blobfish. that is okay though.

Gelsey, Taylor’s younger sister, really likes ballet. If you were a character in the book and you went over to Taylor’s old lake house, you would probably see Gelsey doing ballet in the house or outside.

I really loved the setting of the book because it kind of reminds me of my dream life. You know, we could all live in the mountains by a lake, watch the sunrise every single morning and watch the sunset every single night. I really like cozy places and I really like to feel at home, so the setting was perfect for me.

This book was just so amazing! Like I said above, it made me feel like I was at home by living in the old lake house for the summer. I didn’t want Taylor and her family to leave! I was thinking the whole entire time, “Just move into your old lake house and live in there forever! Tell the renters that you don’t need them anymore!” Then, flip your hair and walk out like you own that lake house because you do.

To end this review, Second Chance Summer is a five star book. It made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside and I loved everybody in the book so much. ★★★★★

what do you think about second chance summer? what is your favorite season? are you a big fan of morgan matson like me? comment below and lettuce chat about it!

3 responses to “Review of “Second Chance Summer”

  1. Pingback: The Monthly Polaroid #4 // September Already?·

Leave a Reply

