Let’s Talk: Mild Language in Books

maddieblogbuttonHey everyone! I have a lot of discussion posts and all of them are really good, but they are all pros and cons. Today, I want to ignore the pros and cons and just stick to a random discussion about mild language in books.

Yes, it is not random. It is a pretty specific topic to do a post about, but the randomness point doesn’t really matter to me.

Honestly, I am not a fan of mild language at all. If I hear somebody using mild language in real life, I just want to pull all of my hair out and cover their mouth so I won’t have to hear it.

In a ton of books, authors are using mild/explicit language in their books as a character’s dialogue, a character’s thoughts, or as the character tells the story.

If I see a not so bad word in a book that everybody says, I won’t get too worked up about it. I mean, this is a book and it is not like they are saying it to me. They are saying it to the made-up character that I am reading about.

If I do see something really bad in a book, I won’t finish. No matter how much I want to finish the book I just won’t finish it. I mean, I see the word and I stop what I am doing right when I see it.

Yep. It is like that most of the time.

Sure, I mean, it is just a word. I mean, I have never said a curse word in my life and to be honest, I am not comfortable with reading books with mild/explicit language in them.

WAIT! What about the other five thousand books that you haven’t read? I bet half of those books has some pretty rough language that reeks.

Well, yeah. YA books mostly have the mild/explicit language in them. That is why I go over to the Children’s section of my library and read a nice book that can make me happy.

What about popular series like The Maze Runner and Divergent?ย They might have some mild language in them.

Well, everything has to have some kind of language. I mean, how are you going to tell the story if you can’t even speak a language? You can’t.

Almost every movie has mild language unless you are watching some show for preschoolers. Almost every book has mild language in it.

All that I have to remember is that even though they say those horrible things to themselfย or to other characters doesn’t mean that you have to say them. Even if you think that you are big stuff, you still shouldn’t say any curse words. It is not the right thing to do.

what do you think about mild language in books? are you comfortable with it or not? what are some books that have mild language in them? do you finish books with bad language? comment below and lettuce chat!

4 responses to “Let’s Talk: Mild Language in Books

  1. Great post! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m the same way; I dislike mild language and absolutely loathe strong language. I cringe every time I come across it. It actually surprised me to find out that young adult books have that in them now. I read Voyage Of The Frog earlier this year and the author sprinkled mild language in it, but it wasn’t enough to make me stop reading; though I hate to see it at all. If it had been strong language, then depending on how far into the book I am, I may stop. I read one last year called Surrender, and it had some pretty bad language, but the majority of it was near the end; so at that point I figured I may as well finish it. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I am glad that you liked it!

      I am glad that somebody is the same way. When I see somebody use mild language, I cringe. It is horrible to see people using mild language just because some other people use them too. I agree. I see tons of books now with mild language in it and it just leaves me wondering, “Do teens / young adults really act like this in real life? if so, this is nonsense.” I was reading this book one time, I can’t remember what it is called. Anyway, it was so good at the beginning and when the dad starting cussing, I just had to put the book down.

      Thank you so much for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

      • ๐Ÿ˜€
        I love your strategy of going to the children’s section; I do that too. ๐Ÿ™‚ One of my favorites is Savvy by Ingrid Law (and the companion novels). I don’t remember any in those, and no matter how many times I read and reread them, they make me smile. ๐Ÿ™‚
        I also shop in the Christian YA section. Usually the language in those are fine. Like the Sierra Jensen Series. I’ve read the first 3 of 12 and so far so good.
        I hope that teens and young adults don’t actually act that way in real life too. (I know I didn’t. XD ) Like you said, that would be crazy.
        If I remember right, even Cinder had a minute amount of mild language in it. ๐Ÿ˜›
        That’s a shame too. But on the bright side, there are still plenty of books out there for us to discover that don’t use mild or strong language. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes! Sometimes, you discover amazing books over at the children’s section that you may or may not have overlooked. I have never heard of Ingrid Law’s “Savvy,” but I am always up to read a new book. “The Lunar Chronicles” series had a few here and there, but I didn’t see a whole lot. Yes, I agree. c:

        Like

Leave a Reply

