Review of “Cress”

Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3)In my latest monthly recap, I promised you a review of the third book in “The Lunar Chronicles” series by Marissa Meyer, Cress. Since I don’t break promises, I am going to give you the review. I would be sad if I didn’t post this myself, but I am going to post it.

What seems like a long time ago, I did a review on Cinder and Scarlet, the first two books in the series. You can click on the links above to see the reviews Let’s get started with my review of Cress, shall we? Enjoy bookish friends!

Title: Cress “The Lunar Chronicles” Book #3

Author: Marissa Meyer

Publisher / Publishing Date: February 4th, 2014 by Feiwel & Friends

Source: Library

About: In this third book in Marissa Meyer’s bestselling “Lunar Chronicles” series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and prevent her army from invading Earth.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl trapped on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s being forced to work for Queen Levana, and she’s just received orders to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is splintered. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a higher price than she’d ever expected. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai, especially the cyborg mechanic. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has. (Goodreads)


OH. MY. STARS. FYI, that is “Lunar Chronicles” language right there.

I have been waiting for what seems like forever to read this book. Well, more like a few months. If you voted on my Read-A-Thon post, you know that this was one of the books that I was hoping to read. I didn’t get to read it back then because none of the books that I wanted were there, so I chose a different book.

Every book in the series is a retelling of our favorite fairy tales. Cinder is Cinderella. Scarlet is Little Red Riding Hood. Cress is Rapunzel.

Marissa Meyer was born to tell fairy tales. She grasps on what she wants, she writes it, and it is so beautiful and well-written. She could make up her own fairy tale character, write a beautiful novel based on the character, and it would be a wonderful book to read. I mean it. If you haven’t read the series yet, I suppose that you empty out your wallet and go buy the series ASAP.

In this book of the series, it is obviously about Cress. She has been living in a satellite for seven years in space. Her netscreens keep her company all day long. She is having to work for Queen Levana, the evil Lunar queen, and she has been ordered to find Cinder and her friends.

One day, Cress gets a hold of Cinder and her crew and they tell her that they are going to come and rescue her. The rescue doesn’t go exactly how she thought it would be though.

I really love Cress. I think that Cress’s story was one of those stories that you will remember for a long time. She was adorable and she reminded me of Rapunzel. Now that is how you stick to a character! With the plot twists and the action, it was all so amazing and I could picture everything in my head.

The whole series is beyond amazing and I can not wait to read Winter. Cress has to be one of my favorite books of all time. It is definitely a five-star book that everybody should read when they get the chance to. ★★★★★

what do you think about the “lunar Chronicles” series? have you read any of the books? what do you think of fairy tales? comment below and lettuce chat!

One response to “Review of “Cress”

  1. Pingback: The Monthly Polaroid #6 // A New Fresh Start |·

Leave a Reply

