Where I Unleash My Inner Writer Part 03 // Entry 03

download

I love writing short stories a lot that I am giving you another short story. This time, Tara and Garrison won’t be in the story. A new character will emerge from the darkness and into the light!

Before I start, I want to thank Allie @ Spreading My Joy for giving me the opportunity to enter her writing contest. I was thrilled to compete in my first writing contest. I also want to thank a few other people who gave me feedback and tips on how to make my writing better.

Thank you.

For the moment you have all been waiting for, here is my last entry! Enjoy!

short story entry 03

Finn wiggled his toes in the sand, watching the waves crash against the shore. The sea water brushed against the tips of his toes. It tickled in a sort of way, but it didn’t amuse him like the clowns at the circus. It was normal.

As he threw a pebble out into the water, he watched it skip. Skip by skip by skip, it disappeared. It was nowhere to be found, sinking to the bottom of the ocean. The pebble with two letters on it was gone and it was nowhere to be seen again, unless it appeared at another place in the future.

He could hear the honk of a horn. Finn turned around to see his Dad’s green truck. It was covered with scratches and a huge dent was on the side of the truck. He heard the honk of the horn again.

It was time to go.

Finn grabbed his surfboard and placed it gently in the back of the truck. He shook the sand out of his faded green sandals, placing them on the dashboard. His dad looked slightly disappointed, but Finn didn’t care. His dad’s truck was already banged up.

“Finn, what did I tell you about going here after school?” Dad asked. Finn just stared out of the rolled down windows. There was the self-owned sweet shop. Finn loved to go there to get chocolate ice cream with strawberry drizzle on it every single weekend. There was the old bait and tackle shop run by Finn’s cousin. He loved to fish, unlike Finn. He had a horrible memory where he caught a fish and it slapped him. That kind of thing only happened in the movies, not in real life.

“I like the beach.” Finn replied.

“Well, you know you have homework.”

Finn rolled his eyes. He was no longer in school. He graduated that year along with the few friends that he actually had. He had to decide where to go to college, it was down to two. He had to decide what he actually wanted to do. His dad wanted him to go to the military and protect his country, but Finn wasn’t one hundred percent positive that was what he wanted to do.

Setting his feet on the dashboard, Finn stared at his dad. “I don’t have homework.”

“In three months you will.”

Sure, I’ll be in college. Right now, just let me be. Finn thought. He sure did want to say it to his dad’s face though.

His dad parked the truck in the gravel driveway of their house. Their front yard was cluttered with all different types of sports balls. Basketballs, soccer balls, baseballs along with baseball bats, even a hockey puck was in the front yard with a hockey goal. When you live with three older brothers, you have to live up to their expectations.

The only problem was that Finn didn’t want to be like Ryker, Sammy, and Lewis, who happened to be triplets. They were in their early twenties and they still lived with Finn and his Dad. They were lazy, selfish, and inconsiderate. It was obvious that Finn didn’t want to be like them at all.

Bags of potato chips were all over the table along with empty cans of soda and a few video games. Ryker, Sammy, and Lewis were really taking advantage of their Dad not being home.

However, he was going to really get mad.

When his Dad walked into the house, his jaw dropped. His fists were clenched tightly as he unplugged the brand new game system. Groans escaped the boys’ mouths when it happened.

“Boys, we are men. We are not lazy boys who played silly video games all day long. We are men who play sports.” His Dad spoke. He often gave speeches on why they shouldn’t be lazy and why baseball is one of the greatest sports of all time.

Ryker groaned, tossing his mop of brown hair. “Listen Pa, we are adults.”

“Not when you live under my roof. My house, my rules.”

“Pa!” Sammy exclaimed.

“Pa? That is so Pilgrim days.” Lewis spat.

Days at Finn’s house often started with a five A.M. run through the park and it ended with a workout in the dusty basement. If anybody thought that Finn had everything going as he planned, they were wrong.

Finn took a deep breath, placing his hands in his pockets. He wanted to stick up to his Dad and his brothers, but how was he going to do that? “Guys, can I say something?” He piped up, making his Dad and everybody stare at him. It was starting to freak him out.

“I know where I am going to college, and the best part is that it is right around the corner.” Finn spoke. “I am going to the community college by Miss Scratcher’s house. You know, she is the woman who sells kittens all of time because her cat always has babies. Anyway, I thought it would be great to all go. You said that you were having a gap year, which turned out to be four years. Please, come to college with me.”

Ryker, Sammy, and Lewis stared at their Dad. All he did was give a pleasant nod. Before Finn knew it, his brothers were giving him a big hug. It was the best kind of hug. It wasn’t the type of hug that made you smell sweaty armpits. It was a hug that showed that they loved him.

Finn loved them back.


what do you think of my heartfelt short story? to be honest, i loved it! are you working on a writing project right now? are you doing nanowrimo this year? comment below and let’s chat!

2 responses to “Where I Unleash My Inner Writer Part 03 // Entry 03

Leave a Reply

