The Monthly Polaroid #6 // A New Fresh Start

Wait? Am I just dreaming or is it almost November already?

Nope. It almost is November.

Welcome back everybody! As you can obviously see, Polaroid Books has a new look! Don’t worry, this blog is still the same blog. It is more organized and more cleaner. To be honest, I don’t like it messy. Trust me, you never want to see me during Spring Cleaning. I unleash the inner monster that is in the depths of my heart.

 

If you missed last month’s recap you can check it out here! It was a long post, so you probably saw it. It was filled with tons of books. You know, you probably saw it.

books read in september

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles, #4)Winter (“The Lunar Chronicles” Book #4) – Some people don’t understand that Marissa Meyer’s series are THE BOMB. Seriously, if you have not read any of the books in the series, you are missing out on a lot. Like, it is probably the most awesome series I have read in my entire life. It has a mix of fantasy, sci-fi, and a hint of dystopian action. Well, not a hint. More like a bowl full of action. Seriously, I was afraid that this book was going to beat me up.

summary of winter

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? Fans will not want to miss this thrilling conclusion to Marissa Meyer’s national bestselling Lunar Chronicles series.


Fairest (“The Lunar Chronicles” Book 3.5) – One half of me was saying to myself, “DUH. Fairest comes after Winter.” DO NOT LISTEN TO ME BECAUSE IT DOES NOT. Anyway, I read Fairest the day after I finished Winter. I should have read it before, but I didn’t because that is how I roll. Anyway, I liked this book, but I didn’t love it.

summary of fairest

In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told.

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.


 

The Invention of Hugo Cabret – If you follow me on Pinterest, you probably know that I love Asa Butterfield. Even on my blog! My profile picture is Asa Butterfield, Ransom Riggs, Ella Purnell, and Fin MacMillian’s leg. Did you know that Asa also played in the movie based on this book, Hugo? If you haven’t watched it, I suppose that you buy the movie and buy the book as soon as possible. Trust me, it is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

summary of the invention of hugo cabret

Orphan, clock keeper, and thief, Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. But when his world suddenly interlocks with an eccentric, bookish girl and a bitter old man who runs a toy booth in the station, Hugo’s undercover life, and his most precious secret, are put in jeopardy. A cryptic drawing, a treasured notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message from Hugo’s dead father form the backbone of this intricate, tender, and spellbinding mystery.


The Swap – I have mixed feelings about Megan Shull’s The Swap. I like it a lot and I like the fact that Ellie got to know more about a boy’s life and Jake got to know more about a girl’s life. Megan Shull’s writing was so great and funny. I loved getting a glimpse into the thoughts of Jack and Ellie. The only thing I didn’t like about the book was the middle school slang. I am a teenager and I do not say “OMG!” or “TOTES!” all of the time. I found that a little bit annoying, but I didn’t let that ruin the fun of reading The Swap.

summary of the swap

“You be me…and I’ll be you.”

Ellie spent the summer before seventh grade getting dropped by her best friend since forever. Jack spent it training in “The Cage” with his tough-as-nails brothers and hard-to-please dad. By the time middle school starts, they’re both ready for a change. And just as Jack’s thinking girls have it so easy, Ellie’s wishing she could be anyone but herself.

Then, BAM! They swap lives – and bodies!

Now Jack’s fending off mean girls at sleepover parties, while Ellie’s reigning as The Prince of Thatcher Middle School.

As their crazy weekend races on – and their feelings for each other grow – Ellie and Jack begin to wonder if maybe the best way to learn how to be yourself is to spend a little time being somebody else.


Ghost Hawk – I don’t like historical fiction. I’ll read some historical fiction books if they are interesting, but I don’t read every single one that I come across. I didn’t get finished reading Susan Cooper’s Ghost Hawk, but after hearing what my friends were saying about I knew that I missed out on a lot.

summary of ghost hawk

From Newbery Medalist Susan Cooper, a story of adventure and friendship between a young Native American and a colonial New England settler.

On the winter day Little Hawk is sent into the woods alone, he can take only a bow and arrows, his handcrafted tomahawk, and the amazing metal knife his father traded for with the new white settlers. If Little Hawk survives three moons by himself, he will be a man.

John Wakely is only ten when his father dies, but he has already experienced the warmth and friendship of the nearby tribes. Yet his fellow colonists aren’t as accepting of the native people. When he is apprenticed to a barrel-maker, John sees how quickly the relationships between settlers and natives are deteriorating. His friendship with Little Hawk will put both boys in grave danger.

The intertwining stories of Little Hawk and John Wakely are a fascinating tale of friendship and an eye-opening look at the history of our nation. Newbery Medalist Susan Cooper also includes a timeline and an author’s note that discusses the historical context of this important and moving novel.


my top three posts

internet news / finds

my favorite posts in the blogger galaxy

upcoming posts

  • I have been waiting for SO LONG for a Maze Runner tag to appear. After browsing on Pinterest for a while, I FOUND IT. Be expecting for fantastic questions. *wiggles eyebrows*
  • My review of “The Invention of Hugo Cabret” and “Winter” will be arriving to the blog soon!
  • You also can’t forget the Nanowrimo files! Be sure to come back at the end of every single week in November to see my Nanowrimo journey.

what do you think about the books above? do you have any recommendations? if so, comment them below! i am always looking for something else to read! what do you think of the new look? comment below and let’s chat!

 

6 responses to “The Monthly Polaroid #6 // A New Fresh Start

  1. I love The Lunar Chronicles! I think, even though some parts of the series are predictable, it’s still incredibly engaging and well-written. I can’t wait to read Heartless when it comes out!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read Winter or Stars Above yet, but Fairest is SO GOOD. I found myself rooting for Levana, even though I could see how she was wrong, but she THOUGHT she was right and ahhh just the conflict, and I just felt so bad for her! Such a great novella that really made you think!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

