Beautiful Books 2016 – Novel Update

What’s up writers? Are you currently writing for Nanowrimo? If so, good luck to you all!

beautiful-booksI am back again with another post on my novel, Gelato Gears. I know, it finally has a title and I just want to say that I am really satisfied with this standalone novel. Sure, it is sloppy and all right now, but every writer’s novel is sloppy when they finish it because it hasn’t been edited.

Editing. UGH.

Editing will be the death of me, literally.

Anyway, I shouldn’t be worried about editing my novel just yet. However, I am still doing Nanowrimo for the FIRST TIME EVER this month. It is a crazy experience, but I love to write along with thousands of other people. They obviously know how it feels like to do something like Nanowrimo.

“Beautiful Books” is created by Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further up & Further In. It only comes around the Nanowrimo season. Whether you are actually doing Nanowrimo or if you are just writing for fun at the moment, this link-up is the one for you to do. Speaking of Nanowrimo, if you want to be writing buddies with me, and I would love if you wanted to, friend me here! There is a 99% chance that I will friend you back.

The Questions

Overall, how is your mental state, and how is your novel going?

Writing Gelato Gears made me happy for many reasons because I was having a hard time coming up with something to write about. Many people call it a writer’s block. I was so thrilled to be writing a novel in third person point of view because I had never tried that before.

As I started to write my novel, I started to get a little stressed out because towards the middle of my novel it was all getting so darn confusing. I mean, I don’t even know what day of the week it was. That is where editing comes in. When editing comes and knocks on my front door, I’ll answer, invite it inside, have a cup of hot chocolate, and then we go over to the computer and edit.

To sum it all up, I had mixed emotions about the whole novel.

What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

The smell of fresh oil and the sound of creaking bolts filled the air as Jake Murphy lied on his back under a red camper van.

Honestly, I love first sentences. I always feel like once you read them, they make a certain impression on you. A bad first sentence could lead you to not like the book at all. A good first sentence could lead you to fangirl about the book. However, I am actually very proud of my first sentence. I feel like it is very descriptive, very visual, and a striking first sentence that will catch the reader’s eye.

Who’s your current favourite character in your novel?

I would have to say that my favorite character Jake, my main character. I think that most people would choose the main character for many reasons. One reason is that he or she is the main character and the main character is the shining star.

I would have to say that Jake is my favorite character because he is a little bit shy, nerdy, kind of feisty on one side, and he is determined to protect the ones that he loves the most. I think that everybody should love a character like this.

What do you love about your novel so far?

There are a few things I love about my novel. I love that it is set in London, England because I have always wanted to go there and to write a book set in my dream place is actually a dream come true. I also love the fact of writing about an android. It is cool to write about things that may or may not happen in real life. To have it written down it a memory.

Have you made any hilarious typos or other mistakes?

Hilarious? That is me all of the way.

I have probably said this quite a few times, but I have a crush on Asa Butterfield. Throughout the whole entire novel I wrote “Butterfield” as Jake’s last name, but then halfway through I wanted to change it to “Murphy.” If Asa read my novel one day, he would obviously know that Jake is a little bit like him.

Wouldn’t that be hilarious though?!

What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end — and why?

I would have to say the beginning because it isn’t as sloppy as the middle and the end. The beginning is just clean and smooth and if you read it the words kind of just roll off of the tip of your tongue.

I also like the end of my novel because it is quite adorable! I would tell you more, but you have to wait until my novel actually gets published one day.

What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

I have a few writing habits. I often go to the same place to write my novels which is my computer or my mustache notebooks. Sometimes I listen to songs by Florence + The Machine because all of her songs are beyond AMAZING! I love to write at night. I do everything at night. I read, write, watch TV, and do other things at night. To be honest, everything is better in the nighttime.

How private are you about your novel while you’re writing? Do you need a cheer squad or do you work alone (like, ahem, Batman)?

I like to work alone. I write my novel and some of my friends and family are like, “Can we see what you are working on?” or, “Can you give us a sneak peek?”

It is actually REALLY HARD to say no because they are my friends and they are my family. My reply is often, “Wait until this bad boy is published!”

What keeps you writing even when it’s hard?

Probably my family. My family motivates me to write and they tell me how I can actually do this. They are all so supportive and so proud of me. They know that this is something that I actually want to do and they let me do it. I thank them for that.

What are your top 3 pieces of writing advice?

01: Learn to finish your story. The hardest part of writing is actually finishing the story. Sometimes I often want to write something else before my story is actually done, but I have to force myself not to. I have to tell myself that I have to finish my story. If you want your novel to get published one day, you can show them an unfinished story. You have to give them a finished story that they will fall in love with.

02: When writing gets tough, you have to take a break. I get so stressed out sometimes that I have to breathe and take a break. I have to step away from my writing space, clear my mind, and do something else for a little while. It isn’t a bad thing. Sure, most of us love to write. Believe it or not, writing does get stressful.

03: Just be yourself. It doesn’t matter how many words your novel has. It doesn’t matter if your novel gets turned into a movie or a TV series. It doesn’t matter how many pages it has. It just matters that you wrote it. You poured your heart, soul, and the occasional tears onto the paper or the screen. Sometimes I have to remind myself to be myself when I am writing because I want to be like all of these other writers in the world, but I can’t be them. I have to be me because there is nobody else in the world that is like me.

Or is there? Do I have a secret twin somewhere in the world that I don’t even know about?!


Are you doing Nanowrimo this year? What are you currently writing about? Have you done this month’s “Beautiful People” link-up? If so, comment the link below and let me check it out! Comment below and let’s chat about our writing projects!

15 responses to “Beautiful Books 2016 – Novel Update

  1. Your book sounds awesome!! 🙂 Haha I totally feel you about writing alone/at night. (+How have you already finished your story?? omg I’ve barely gotten to 4000 words)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Everything is so different at night and I can not wait until it gets dark earlier now. More reading time for me. *insert evil laugh here* 😀 Well, November for me was going to be CRAZY BUSY, so I got my idea in mid August, started writing in September / October, and I finished around the middle of October. Good luck on your novel! I know it is going to be great. c:

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ahahah that’s true but I’ll miss good after-school lighting for bookstagram photos xD *evilly laughs with you* . Also ahh I see, you have so much dedication to finish a novel on your own without Nanowrimo unlike me whoops. Now I really want to read Gelato Gears!! 😀 And thank you, I hope so ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aww. That stinks. At least you are amazing at taking pictures! I love taking selfies with my books, but I am not very good at it. 😀 I can’t wait to see your Nanowrimo novel! I’m iheartglitter if you want to friend me on there. THANK YOU SO MUCH! I AM SO HAPPY!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ahaha aww thanks lovely :)) + ahhh I don’t know if I’ll be able to finish it this month because I’ve been sooo busy as well -__- and I would, but I’m not really sure how to?? Whoops.. my user is pagepixie on both the young writers and normal website !! And OF COURSEEE I’M GLAD YOU ARE :))

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Editing is the devil’s work. I’m certain of it. *shudders* Hang in there! I really like the sound of Jake. He’s precious! ❤ And I think the love of night is a standard-issue trait of creatives, haha. When else can we find the peace and quiet? In my own family, I usually compromise and tell them "when this bad boy is ready for beta reading" and then everybody's happy. 🙂

    http://www.inkspelledfaery.com/2016/11/05/beautiful-books-2016-novel-update/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha YES.After November is over, I am going to edit just because my novel is driving me bananas. You hang in there too! We are all in this together. 😀 YAY! I love Jake too. He’s a little fire cupcake or something like that. It is like this one “Spongebob” episode I watched and everything was so different at night, and it really is.

      Like

  3. I agree with you that first sentences are amazing. Sometimes I just go through Amazon reading the first sentences (or paragraphs) of books. 🙂 Good job with your first sentence.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Monthly Polaroid #7 // December?! No Way. |·

Leave a Reply

