Review of “P.S. I Like You”

ps-i-like-you-background

I have been promising you all this post for about two months now, but it has never came. Silly me, this post has been in my drafts for TWO WHOLE MONTHS. That is kind of a long time once you think about it. Actually, you can forget about what all I just said because the good thing is that I am actually here for the review and I am currently about to give it to you.

See, I don’t really break promises.

I just forget about the posts that were in my drafts and forget to publish them on time.

Title: P.S. I Like You

Author: Kasie West

Source: Library

Publisher / Publishing Date: July 26th, 2016 by Point

Summary: Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds thatsomeone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…(Goodreads)


This is probably one of the best YA teen romance books that I have read in a long time. No lie. That is coming from a person who only craves action and dystopian novels.

Kasie West’s P.S. I Like You is about a girl named Lily and she has a huge family, three other siblings, her mom, and her dad. She is just like any other teenage girl; she plays guitar, she has a crush on Lucas, a senior who loves music as much as she does, and she really wants to enter a competition to show everybody her brand new song. Well, as soon as it is written.

When she writes down a lyric to her favorite song on her desk in class, she arrives the next day to find that somebody else has continued the chain! Lily will have to uncover the mystery of who is writing to her.

I love this book because Lily reminds me a lot of myself. I am kind of awkward around boys, I’m quirky, and I love music a lot. Trust me, if we ever meet in person, I’ll probably bring up music and then we will have to talk for hours. Hopefully she knows who Florence + The Machine is.

Lily was such a relatable character that she is probably one of my favorite YA characters in the history of YA novels. She was so sweet and she was so kind to everybody, even when one person drove her bonkers.

I also really liked how this book didn’t have a ton of romance in it. I hate when the two lovebirds are so in love that they want to kiss every single minute of every single day. It isn’t how real relationships go, unless you live in a fairy tale. Kasie West shows how a possible relationship could come to be even when you think it may never happen in a million years.

To me, the book was also kind of predictable. Half of the book, I knew who was writing Lily notes and contuining the song lyrics on her desk. The other half I was like, “OMG! Who is writing back to her? I have to know as soon as possible!

This book is such a fluffy and a cute read to read if you are looking for something to read as soon as possible. I loved it so much that it has to go home with five stars! It had everything that a YA book should have. Kasie West is definitely one of my favorite authors now. ★★★★★

What do you think about P.S. I Like You? Do you like this book too? Have you read any of Kasie West’s books? If so, which one should I read next? Comment below and lettuce chat!

5 responses to “Review of “P.S. I Like You”

  1. I’ve only read The Fill In Boyfriend, but I enjoyed it, because it was a fluffy contemporary! Sounds like this one is much the same – I’ll have to pick it up! It sounds really intriguing, especially with how it involves music and lyrics! Music + books are favourite things in my whole life! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Review of “Cinder & Ella” |·

Leave a Reply

