When I First Saw You #9

29843-when-i-first-saw-you-logoWhen I First Saw You is a link-up hosted and created by Sophie @ Sailing Through Books and co-hosted by Izel @ A Bookish Flower. They give you four covers every month and you get to choose one, look at the cover, and make up a synopsis.

I guess you could say that we are all judging books by their covers.

What’s up everybody? You all probably read the bold text above of this sentence. I have been doing this link-up for quite a while now and I just want to say that it has been AMAZING to do this WONDERFUL link-up. I love getting inspired for novels that I may write one day and I love creating a synopsis that becomes my own. Let’s get started, shall we?

The Covers

I Chose…

Title: Gap Life

Author: John Coy

Expected Publishing Date / Publisher: November 22nd, 2016 by  Feiwel & Friends

Add Gap Life on Goodreads


My Synopsis

Rock bands, no more homework, and eternal freedom from my family. Could life get any sweeter?

After five jobs, three girlfriends, and one dead goldfish, Jaxton Peters thinks he is going on the right track. He just got an e-mail saying that he was accepted into Harvard. Could life get any better?

Well, unless you want to have a gap life and never go to college.

When Jaxton passes the opportunity to go to Harvard, he decides to work at a movie rental place. At his new job, he meets Van, a girl who obsesses over the newest sci-fi movie and cinnamon on popcorn. It turns out that she is also going to Harvard, but she has taken Jaxton’s place.

With a battle to get back into college to take back his spot and a shocking discover about himself, Jaxton fights for his right to go to college and live his life to the fullest.

The Real Deal

Cray got into the same college his father attended and is expected to go. And to go pre-med. And to get started right away. His parents are paying the tuition. It should be an easy decision.
But it’s not.

All Cray knows is that what’s expected of him doesn’t feel right. The pressure to make a decision—from his family, his friends—is huge. Until he meets Rayne, a girl who is taking a gap year, and who helps him find his first real job, at a home of four adults with developmental disabilities. What he learns about himself and others will turn out to be more than any university could teach him—and twice as difficult.

 Verdict

When I saw the title of the book, I knew it was going to be all about not going to college. Even though I am a teenager who is nowhere near that concerned about going to college, I still think about it sometimes.

To be honest, it was very hard to figure out a synopsis based on the cover of this book. I struggled a little bit, maybe a lot but you can’t get any evidence, and luckily I figured out what my made up synopsis was going to be.

I am very excited for Gap Life to come out and I will have to get it once it does releases in bookstores everywhere.


What do you think about John Coy’s Gap Life? Is is currently on your TBR stack? Have you done WIFSY this month? If so, comment the link to your post below! I would love to see what you put!

4 responses to “When I First Saw You #9

  1. Hah-ha! The goldfish part got me laughing. Very funny!
    I actually haven’t heard much of this novel but it seems like people are mostly discontent with it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

