Review of “The Invention of Hugo Cabret”

Hello! My name is Maddie and I love Asa Butterfield.

Awkward introduction, but I love it!

polaroid-books-1

Since my celebrity crush is Asa Butterfield right now, and it will probably stay like that for a long time, I have to know more about him. He is more than just Jake in Ransom Riggs’s Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. He also played as Bruno in The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, Nathan in A Brilliant Young Mind, and Ender in Ender’s Game. If you have never seen the movie Hugo either, he is in that movie also.

Anyway, I recently read The Invention of Hugo Cabret. To be honest, it was wonderful and I swallowed it whole. Just kidding. I just read it in a day because the book was so amazing. Before I spill everything, check out my review of Brian Selznick’s book, The Invention of Hugo Cabret here.

The Invention of Hugo CabretTitle: The Invention of Hugo Cabret

Author: Brain Selznick

Publisher / Publishing Date: April 1st, 2007 by Scholastic (first published on January 1st, 2007)

Source: Library

About: Orphan, clock keeper, and thief, Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. But when his world suddenly interlocks with an eccentric, bookish girl and a bitter old man who runs a toy booth in the station, Hugo’s undercover life, and his most precious secret, are put in jeopardy. A cryptic drawing, a treasured notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message from Hugo’s dead father form the backbone of this intricate, tender, and spellbinding mystery. (Goodreads)


The Invention of Hugo Cabret is about a boy named Hugo and he lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station. He fixes the clocks and his survival depends of secrets and anonymity. He meets Isabelle. a bookish girl who is very curious about Hugo’s life and a bitter old man who runs a toy booth at the train station. He also has a huge secret of his own.

What do a drawing, a notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message from Hugo’s father have in common?

A mystery.

Hugo. Oh, I loved Hugo. He was a bit misunderstood, feisty on the edges,  and he was actually really smart. He was a brat at times, but other times he wasn’t. He wasn’t very wise about stealing things, but it wasn’t his fault. He was an apprentice. He couldn’t control himself until the one moment his master suddenly disappeared. Like I said above, total mystery.

I also really loved Isabelle. Like the summary said, she was an eccentric bookish girl. I felt like I really connected to Isabelle because we both love books and we both love a little mystery here and there. She was also really nice to Hugo once she got to know him a little bit more. They were the pair of two unlikely friends. Kind of like mismatched socks, except that they aren’t socks.

The book was set in the early 1930’s, 1931 to be precise. I am not the biggest fangirl over historical fiction, but reading The Invention of Hugo Cabret opened my eyes. It has made me want to read more historical fiction. Who knows, maybe you will see me reading more historical fiction novels? Maybe you will see more reviews on historical fiction novels? You won’t see one at the moment though. Too bad, too sad.

The layout of The Invention of Hugo Cabret was so stunning! I loved seeing the illustrations on each page. The book is huge, but three-fourths of the book is illustrations drawn by Brian Selznick himself. He put so much detail into each and every one of his illustrations. His writing was amazing also. After watching the movie first and then reading the book, I could see everything that was happening in my head.

Going onto the discussion about the movie, the movie was so close to the book! It kind of seemed like the movie revolved around the mechanical man a little bit more than the book, but I loved seeing the similarities and the differences from the movie and the book. It is like a quote I once heard, “The movie is not always supposed to be like the book. If you don’t like it, you will just have to deal with it.” – Anonymous**

**that quote may or may not be from me. pass it on friends!

For anybody that may want to read The Invention of Hugo Cabret, you absolutely should when you get the chance. It is definitely a five-star book.

Have you read this amazing book yet? It is so good! Do you love Asa Butterfield? Who are some of your favorite actors / actresses? Do you like inventing cool things? Comment below and lettuce chat!***

***how long have i been doing the “lettuce chat” thing? Well, I’ll find out sooner or later.
3 responses to “Review of “The Invention of Hugo Cabret”

  1. Concur about the movie not always meant to be like the book. 😉 The film really felt like an opera to me, if that makes sense. A whimsical children’s opera or at least with a childlike wonder.

    And that such a talented writer be a talented artist as well? Amazing! I am so glad to hear that a lot of the things I loved about the movie (the bookish Isabelle, the mystery, Hugo’s misunderstood character) are also in the book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Monthly Polaroid #8 // Recapping and Fangirling |·

Leave a Reply

