Maddie’s Guide to “Miss Peregrine’s”

What’s up? If you obviously don’t know yet, I love Miss Peregrine’s. Yep. It is one hundred percent true. I love it all. I love the characters, their peculiar powers, the cast, and everything about the books and the movie. It is all so magical, yet so adventurous.

I guess you can think of this as a celebration post because Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children came out Tuesday on DVD and I got to watch it for the second time and be right back because a wave of emotions just crashed into me.

Okay, I’m back.

That’s why I am here! In case you aren’t so sure about Ransom Riggs best-selling series, Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, I am here to answer all of your questions and go in way too deep about important discussions.

Summary of Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1)Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #2)Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, #3)

 

 

 

 

Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children is a series by Ransom Riggs. It is a spooky, magical, and unique series for so many reasons. Right now, the series consists of four books; Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Hollow City, Library of Souls, and Tales of the Peculiar.

One of the reasons that the series is so unique is the photographs that are located in the book. After looking on Ransom Riggs’s official website, I learned that he loves pictures! He takes his own pictures and he finds beautiful, yet mysterious photos and he keeps them. I think that it is a wonderful hobby and I love looking into the past.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children // Hollow City // Library of Souls // Tales of the Peculiar

Movie

I have heard a lot from the movie being way different from the book. For everybody wondering if that is true or not, I honestly have no idea whatsoever. After all, I haven’t read the series yet.

Either way, the movie was excellent! It was directed by the amazing Tim Burton and it had amazing actors and actresses playing as our favorite characters such as Eva Green, Asa Butterfield, Ella Purnell, Finlay Macmillan, and so much more. Ignoring all of the negativity rolling around the internet about the movie, I honestly think it is amazing and there is no way that people are going to change that for me.

Just so you know, I am fixing to do on two very deep discussions about the movie and the book. Many people have been talking about both of them and how they love the books so much more. I am just going to state my opinions on the movie being different from the book.

Emma V.S. Olive: The Peculiar Change

I think people on any platform on social media have uncovered that Emma and Olive’s peculiar powers were changed. To be honest, I really don’t mind and here’s why.
I honestly think that the main reason they switched their powers was because the cover of the first book has a levitating girl on the cover. For people who have come across the book may not know the title, but all they do know if that it has a levitating girl on the cover.

Changes are Happening

I recently read this super well written Instagram post from a super awesome Miss Peregrine’s fan page and I couldn’t be happier than to see somebody else accept the changes instead of hating them. Since I follow too many fan pages because I’m just like that, I can’t find it. #sorrynotsorry

I remember a little bit and it said that Ransom was happy about the changes which I am super glad about. I am glad that he doesn’t really care about what all of the other people say. I mean, you can’t get nine to twelve year old kids to play every single peculiar child in a Tim Burton movie. That would kind of be boring.

I also heard that there isn’t a lot of diversity in the movie, but I think that there is. For example, Finlay Macmillan plays as Enoch O’ Connor. He was born in Scotland. Asa was born in London. See? Diversity.

Out of all of the changes that were changed, I will always still love this movie no matter what anybody says.

For New Members of the Peculiar Family… (WELCOME!)

  • Watch the movie before you read the series. For somebody that hasn’t read the series yet, I am seriously pumped to read it now.
  • Don’t worry about what anybody else says. The day when I was going to see the movie I saw SO MANY negative reviews and they really brought me down. Sometimes I wish that people would keep their opinions to themselves, but we live in a generation of social media. Also, we can’t go around to every single person and tell them what we think.

What do you think about Ransom Riggs’s, Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series? Who is your favorite peculiar child? What is your peculiar dream power? Comment below and let’s chat!

5 responses to “Maddie’s Guide to “Miss Peregrine’s”

    • The movie is so good in my opinion, especially for somebody who has never read the books. I heard that a lot of things were changed and people couldn’t understand the second half of the movie, but I don’t see what the fuss is all about really. Overall, I found it really exciting and super awesome!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Review of “Hollow City” |·

Leave a Reply

