Review of “Heartless”

HeartlessTitle: Heartless

Author: Marissa Meyer

Publishing Date / Publisher: November 8th, 2016 by  Feiwel & Friends

Source: Library

About: Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans. (Goodreads)


Wow. Just wow.

I’m speechless, but if I was really speechless then I wouldn’t be writing this review right now. Therefore I am not speechless at all.

First of all, I just want to say that Marissa Meyer is the QUEEN of retellings. If somebody wrote a book about her I bet it would be one of the most interesting books of all time. Plus. she is #BOSS and #BOOKGOALS. I even want to write like her, but that would be impossible and then I would be a plagiarist and I don’t want to be that.

I love Alice in Wonderland. I mean, I read it for school last year and I instantly fell in love. It is one of my favorite classics of all time and I don’t think that anything can change that. It is one of my favorite. I think that it is my number one favorite classic in the history of classic books. Besides The Wizard of Oz. It is a close second.

When I finished the “Lunar Chronicles” series, I literally just found out that Marissa Meyer was going to have another novel coming out. Just like everybody else, I was thrilled. Another awesome retelling?! YES PLEASE!

I loved the first part. I could have devoured it like Cath’s delicious macaroons. That would be wonderful. Plus, I have never tried a macaroon, but they look absolutely delicious. However, when I got to the second part of the book, I don’t know what happened. I guess that I was thinking of something different. I was picturing it all in my head and seeing different things. I had it all planned out in my head. Happily ever after, la la la, we live in a sugar gumdrop land, blah blah blah.

I don’t know what happened.

That ending. though. GEE WHIZ. THAT WAS WEIRD. I mean, WOW. THAT IS WHY I STARTED OFF THE REVIEW WITH WOW BECAUSE OF THAT AND ALONG WITH MANY OTHER REASONS.

Okay, enough with me rambling about somewhat negative things. Let’s just look at the bright side of the book.

I loved Cath. She was sweet and she reminded me of a princess that you see on one of those movies. She wanted to go her own way, and I totally respect her on that point! She honestly inspired me in some sort of way.

Jest. *sighs happily* My little jester full of surprises, literally. I love him. He was so charming, so sweet, so wonderful to Cath. Unlike the “Lunar Chronicles” series, Heartless is full of fluffy romance like a wedding cake frosted in white. There are some parts where it is so romance filled and so adorable. Then, you have some confusing parts, it may have been just me dozing off at midnight, and they aren’t so fluffy.

I liked Heartless. Wait, let me take that back. I loved it. Right now, I have to give it three stars. I don’t know why, but I liked it and didn’t like it at the same time. Overall, it was an enjoyable and sort of quick read for me. ★★★✩✩

What do you think about Heartless? Is it on your wish list for the holidays? What are some of your favorite fairytale retellings? Comment below and let’s chat!

 

 

2 responses to “Review of “Heartless”

  1. Great review! It echoes a lot of my feelings – I myself liked the book, but I found it overall not super memorable. I really like Cath and I can relate to a lot of the struggles that she went through, but at the same time it was also pretty… underwhelming? It was definitely a quick read, though, and quite easy to get into. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

