Review of “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children”

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (“Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children” #1)

Author: Ransom Riggs

Publisher / Publishing Date: June 7th 2011 by Quirk

Summary: A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.


Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1)I think that everybody that has been reading since around August or September of last year has known that I have been taken away by the fandom, sent to the 1940’s, and I have been spending my days with the peculiar children.

Let’s say that I don’t regret a thing, because I really don’t.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is the first book in Ransom Riggs’s bestselling series, “Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children.” Jake is sent to a remote island in Wales where he tries to uncover the children’s past and learn what his Grandfather did a long time ago with the children and the headmistress, Miss Alma LeFay Peregrine.

This story was so interesting and different because it was told with photos that went along with what was happening in the story. It was so mysterious and so interesting and I wanted to read the long chapters and never stop reading.

That’s how much I loved it.

Also, the children were beyond amazing and I adored their peculiar powers. I felt like I was one of the children and I was actually in Wales. I felt like I was going on a mysterious adventure with them.

The writing was so neat and so descriptive that I could see every single little detail in my mind. It felt like I was at the movies, seeing this all by myself in an empty room.

Also, I was really interested about the changes from the movie version and the actual book! For example. Emma and Olive’s peculiar power change. Have you ever thought that Emma was more of a blond girl’s name and Olive was more of a red hair girl’s name? I know, it is a weird theory, but it is rather interesting if you ask me.

Also some of the younger kids were older and some of the older kids were younger! Like Olive, she was an eight year old because she was very childish, but in the movie she looks fifteen. Enoch was around seventeen in the movie, but he was twelve in the book.

It was all so interesting to read, yet I laughed out loud because of some of the differences even though nothing was funny. Except that Dr. Golan is a man in the book. That was HILARIOUS.

I don’t want to end this review, but I certainly don’t want to ramble all of the readers’ ears off, or eyes depending who you are. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is definitely a five star read because it was SO GOOD and it is dark, yet really interesting at the same time.

Wait, can this read be a million stars?

I am not just rating it five stars because I have been in love with the fandom and the whole aspect of the book. I am rating it five stars because it was actually a really good book and it was so amazing. I honestly can not wait to read more. ★★★★★

What do you think about Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children? Do you like the movie or the book better? Who is your favorite peculiar child? I love movie Emma, Millard, and Enoch! Comment below and let’s chat!

9 responses to “Review of “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children”

  1. Pingback: The Liebster Award |·

  2. Pingback: Review of “Hollow City” |·

Leave a Reply

