Author Signing: Robert Beatty

Hey everybody! So, recently I had the chance to go to an author signing and it was so much fun. Recently where I live, they are having SO many authors coming to places around my area and that really made me sad. Like, why don’t authors like to come to little towns like mine?

So, my amazing Mom tagged me in a post on Facebook. I check my Facebook a lot because of teen events that are going on in my area and a lot of my friends are on Facebook. I checked it out and it turned out that an author was coming to a book store that was about fifteen minutes away from my house. You probably know what my reply was. After all, I wouldn’t be doing this post if I said no.

If you have no idea who Robert Beatty is, he is the author of New York Time’s bestselling book Serafina and the Black Cloak. The second book in the series is called Serafina and the Twisted Staff. I also got a sneak peek of the first three chapters of Serafina and the Splintered Heart, which is coming out in July!

If you love books with a ton of plot twists, you are going to love the “Serafina” series. The first three chapters alone had a lot of twists and turns and that made me so happy.

It was really busy for a Saturday morning. When I saw really busy, I mean probably around fifty to seventy five people in the children’s section of the bookstore. Now, it probably seemed like that many people to me because I don’t socialize a lot with other people.

It was very interesting to see so many bookworms of all ages talking about books. Honestly, everybody that I usually go to doesn’t really understand my love for books, but now I have some pretty awesome friends who do understand how much books mean to me and they don’t judge me at all which is the great part. They are all just like, “Go do your thing, girl and tell me how the book ends.”

The event started at two and an hour before the reading, it got really crowded. People were talking about their travels to Biltmore, that is where the “Serafina” series is set, and how Robert Beatty got the setting just right. I overheard them saying that it was just like they were in Biltmore again. As I am reading the book now, it is so majestic and so mysterious.

Then, I got to meet the author, Robert Beatty! We got to go in groups of fifty, which I had to wait about thirty minutes before I got my book signed. I held it in my arms, anxious to get it signed. Plus, it was really cool getting to talk to Robert Beatty. He said, “Don’t be shy! You all can talk to me about the books and what you all like, what you didn’t like, what you found relatable, and so on.” For somebody that is so shy, it is me, I actually talked. Words came out of my mouth and I talked to Robert Beatty. Just so you all know, he was very nice. He even said that I looked familiar, which leaves me wondering if he looked at my book blog sometime along with so many other authors.

Wouldn’t that be so cool though?

I mean, it has happened one time. It could happen again.

maddieblogpostAnd for the moment you have all been waiting for, here is a picture of me and the author of the “Serafina” series, Robert Beatty! *insert applause here*

I was literally so excited to meet the author like I have probably said so many times before I typed up this sentence. To be honest, it was a dream come true and I actually couldn’t believe that it was happening. It was a pleasure to be around so many people who loved books just like I did. I was proabably fangirling the whole entire time, which is absolutely true, but who wouldn’t?

I mean, I am meeting an author?

That’s so cool!

I mean, it is always cool.

Bookworms are the coolest people on the globe, am I right or am I right? Always right. *winks*

About Robert Beatty

Robert Beatty is the author of the #1 New York Times best selling Serafina Series published by Disney-Hyperion, a spooky mystery-thriller about a brave and unusual girl who lives secretly in the basement of the grand Biltmore Estate.

Serafina and the Black Cloak was a #1 New York Times best seller, has been on the list for more than 45 weeks, and won the prestigious 2016 Pat Conroy Southern Book Prize. The second book in the series, Serafina and the Twisted Staff, became a #1 New York Times best seller in the first week of its launch and earned a “Starred Review” from Kirkus Reviews, which said, “Even better than its predecessor, a sequel that delivers nonstop thrills from beginning to end.” Enjoyed by both young readers and adults, the books are being taught in over a thousand classrooms nationwide. The third book in the Serafina series comes out in July 2017. Robert Beatty has been awarded an additional four book deal with Disney-Hyperion.

Robert Beatty lives in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Asheville, North Carolina with his wife and three daughters, who help create and refine his stories. He loves to explore Biltmore Estate and the darkened forest trails where his novels take place. He writes full-time now, but in his past lives, Robert was one of the early pioneers of cloud computing, the founder/CEO of Plex Systems, the co-founder of Beatty Robotics, and the chairman/CTO of Narrative Magazine. In 2007, he was named an Entrepreneur of the Year. (Goodreads)


What do you think of author signings? They are super fun, right? Have you ever been to one? Have you ever read the “Serafina” series? If so, which book is your favorite? If you haven’t read it, would you like to? Comment below and let’s chat!

2 responses to “Author Signing: Robert Beatty

Leave a Reply

