Beautiful People #8 – March Edition

What’s up? I’m back after two days of not posting! Expect a lot of posts from me coming in the next few days because I have hit that inspirational fork in the road. It was a very inspirational fork with a lot of grand ideas.

“Beautiful People” is a monthly link-up hosted by two beautiful people; Cait and Sky. They give you ten questions about your character and you get to answer them. Plus, you can use this with any of your works. I am currently still focusing on Jake Murphy, my main character, in  Gears of Ember and for anybody who has been following since the beginning that I started secretly writing this, you know that I have been talking and obsessing over this forever. Sadly, it isn’t going to be published. I don’t have any time! It seems like it all slips away. Let’s just hope that I can publish it sometime in the future.

Also, I have no idea whatsoever if I am going to participate in Camp Nanowrimo next month. I would probably die if I did. Right now I have two ideas in mind, Jack and the Beanstalk retelling and some science-fiction / history story with simulations. Both ideas are so cool and I may add a poll to the bottom of this post for you all to vote on.

JUST KIDDING. I AM.

• QUESTIONS •

 

What’s their favourite book/movie/play/etc.?

I feel like Jake would love anything smart, yet with some sort of science fiction twist. Maybe he would like any robot / cyborg movie? I feel like he would also like really fancy things even though he lives in what seems like a homemade dumpster. He would probably love something geeky also. Maybe some documentaries or some episodes of “How Its Made.”

Is there anything they regret doing?

Oh yeah. I have my regrets. I am pretty sure that you have your regrets. He probably regrets all of the times that he has ever gotten mad at Father, because it seems like the British people talk fancy like in the movies. He loves his Father and even though they tend to butt heads most of the time, he seems to forget that a bit. However, men are men and they fight and argue. In the end, we all love each other.

If they were sick or wounded, who would take care of them and how?

Possibly Ember. She would probably get him a nice cup of steaming hot tea. Maybe his best friend William would, even though he isn’t a fatherly figure. He would probably make some soup and spill it everywhere on Jake. His Father would probably be really awkward if he were to take care of Jake. Since they kind of don’t get along with each other and they aren’t very close, he would tend to ask Jake awkward questions and try his best, even though we all know that he is failing miserably.

Is there an object they can’t bear to part with and why?

Jake can’t bear to be without his music box. His Mother made it for him when he was really young and even though he was little, it may have been one of the reasons why he wanted to invent. He also can’t leave the house, even though he does it all of the time, without his toolbox. It has a fresh coat of red paint every couple of days because that is literally how much he loves it.

What are 5 ways to win their heart (or friendship)?

01. Do something extremely geeky. Make a book reference or talk about the newest Star Wars movie.

02. Get him to break out of his shell. It takes a long time, but you can hopefully do it. I said hopefully, lads.

03. Invent. Duh. ‘Nuff said.

04. Be the type of person that suddenly gets rebellious at some sorts of times.

05. And if you happen to be some sort of android, be careful so he doesn’t fall in love with you. Jake will fall in love with you either way though.

Describe a typical outfit for them from top to bottom.

OUTFITS. AHHH.

Jake is honestly the person who goes over to their closest and says, “I don’t care what I wear today.” His outfit consists of a white t-shirt, a pair of overalls that are covered in oil stains and red paint stains just like the t-shirt, and a pair of beat-up sneakers. His black hair will be a mess and if he doesn’t feel like putting his contacts in, he will wear his glasses. On a nice day, which is never to him, he dresses up nicely. When I say nice, I am talking about a nice hoodie or shirt and a pair of lounge pants.

What’s their favorite type of weather?

I feel like Jake would like those really rainy days where it is pouring rain and super cloudy outside. Except that rainy days can have some of their cons for him and his Father, mostly the house. However, he would probably like them because he can be lazy and relax in his room, jotting down ideas for his next invention that he will probably never build at all.

What’s the worst fight they’ve ever been in?

That part when it leads up to the spoiler and it happens to be rainy and it is very sad, but I’m just like, “YESS BOI.”

#sorrynotsorry

What names or nicknames have they been called throughout their life?

Jake is a nickname, but he has been called that for his whole entire life. His real name is Jacob, but he doesn’t classify Jake as a nickname. Maybe somebody has called Jakey before because it sounded babyish. He isn’t the biggest fan of nicknames.

What makes their heart feel alive?

PUMP UP THE ALIVE JAM.

Okay, maybe going to the factory when somebody tells Jake no makes him feel a bit rebellious. Again, we know that nobody really cares at all. Towards the end of the book, I look at Jake a different way that makes me bawl my eyes out and the feeling that was two questions above this question.

What do you think about Jake? Are you currently working on a project for Camp Nanowrimo in April? If so, comment below and let’s chat!

6 responses to “Beautiful People #8 – March Edition

  1. Jake sounds like an awesome character– you’ve got wit, charm, nice backstory, and a fun, relatable (I swear that’s a word, but my computer is doing the red-dot thing of “you moron spell better”, so idk) outlook on clothes. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

