Beautiful People #10 – Author Writing Process Edition

I will say this a million times if I need to, but it seems like it has been centuries, cue the Fall Out Boy song here, since I have done a blog post, and I really miss it a lot! Blogging is one of my passions and a place where I can vent out my nerd confessions and write what I love. I am so glad to be doing another edition of Beautiful People! It is one of my favorite things to do. Plus, you don’t have to be writing a book to do this. You can write anything!

The Beautiful People link-up is hosted and created by Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up & Further In. These two wonderful ladies clash together to give you one of the coolest link-ups in the history of link-ups. If you are doing it, please post the link to your’s in the comments below! I would love to see your writing process. Let’s get started!

•  HOW DO YOU DECIDE WHICH PROJECT TO WORK ON? •

Mostly whichever one seems more interesting and appealing at the time. If it is the summer and the setting is set somewhere in the summer, I would probably like to work on that one more than one that is set in the winter. If I am having a really hard time writing sometime, then I usually take a break and try to write on something else that I may have been working on in the past. It really just depends on my mood.

•  HOW LONG DOES IT USUALLY TAKE FOR YOU TO FINISH A PROJECT?  •

The shortest time I have ever taken to finish a project was three months, but it always gets a little bit longer. My last project took about six to seven months to complete, but it was totally worth it. I got it done and that’s all that matters! It still needs a little editing, so that probably means that it is actually not done, but I’ll get there soon.

•  DO YOU HAVE ANY ROUTINES TO PUT YOU IN THE WRITING MOOD?  •

Not really, which probably makes me way more uninteresting now. I actually started gathering ideas before I actually start writing everything because I find it a lot more easier now. I write how the characters act and what they look like, what the setting is, and what the story is about. Then, I add a few other details and then I start writing my story and it all pours out!

•  WHAT TIME OF DAY DO YOU WRITE BEST?  •

Maybe the mid afternoon? I always get really tired in the early hours or the morning or the late hours at night. Writing in the afternoon calms me down and just lets me focus on what I really need to get accomplished.

•  ARE THERE ANY AUTHORS YOU THINK YOU HAVE A SIMILAR STYLE TO?  •

Not really. I wouldn’t really compare myself with any author because honestly I don’t think that I can ever live up to any of the authors that I look up to. They are already so amazing and their writing styles are so amazing. I don’t think that I could ever live up to their talent.

•  WHY DID YOU START WRITING AND WHY DO YOU KEEP WRITING?  •

I started writing a few years ago in school about pretty much anything. I realized that most people that I knew hated writing because they thought that it was boring or that it was way too much work. However, I loved writing about anything! I remember writing this one thing that was kind of inspired by the “I Survived” series and it was actually pretty decent for a fourth grader. The rest of my classmates illustrated it and I wrote the whole entire thing.

I keep on writing because I love it and without it, I would have no clue whatsoever what I would be doing right now. Nothing interests me more than writing.

•  WHAT IS THE HARDEST THING YOU’VE WRITTEN?  •

Probably my first novel, Incognito. It was so hard to write! I had to do tons of research, it is still really sloppy, I had to make sure that my characters weren’t perfect and people could actually relate to them, and I had to make sure when to put things in and what to take out. It is still a work in process after a whole entire year, but I am hoping to edit it soon and make it a little more cleaner than it was before.

•  IS THERE A PROJECT THAT YOU WANT TO TACKLE SOMEDAY BUT DON’T FEEL READY YET?  •

I actually want to keep on writing the Incognito series, but I am so blank on ideas. I left my first book out on a cliffhanger and it is so hard to write something for the next book in the series. I have so many ideas, but whenever I write them out it gets a little bit harder and harder every single time. Right now, I feel like I should just wait it out and not focus on it for a little bit, but I really want to get back writing it someday in the future.

•  WHAT WRITING GOALS DID YOU MAKE FOR 2017 AND HOW ARE THEY GOING? •

I really wanted to do Camp Nanowrimo again this year, but I don’t think that it is working out so far because I have been completely blank on ideas. However, I do have one idea in my drafts and I actually started writing it three months ago! I just really want to get back writing it again because I feel like it is a book that appeals to younger and older kids.

•  DESCRIBE YOUR WRITING PROCESS IN THREE WORDS OR ONE GIF!  •

I’m going to do a few gifs because I mainly love GIFS. Also, this post needs more movement. Please don’t shake your computer screen! It is probably going to break. Correction, it is going to break and shatter into a million pieces, so please do not do it.

Two words; Harry and Dunkirk. Plus, this GIF is actually pretty relatable when it comes to my writing.

Have you done Beautiful People this month yet? Is so, please comment the link to your post down in the comments below! I would LOVE to see your writing process and your GIF.

6 responses to “Beautiful People #10 – Author Writing Process Edition

  1. I love hearing about others’ writing processes! I’m the opposite of you, I write best late at night when my brain can’t process the awfulness of what I’m writing.

    Also I love your theme! (And not just because it’s the one I’ve been using since I started blogging 4 years ago.) And your DISCLAIMER is adorable, “Stealing other people’s things is not very nice.” I want to read more of your work already!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love hearing about how writers find their stories! I am someone who always wanted to be a writer, but I never had a story to tell. It used to bum me out, but I’m okay now because that just gives me more time to read all the books!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s always so interesting reading about other people’s writing processes! I feel like I’m all out of ideas at the moment, so I’m just patiently waiting for them to return…and I’m super excited to see Dunkirk when it comes out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

